UCTC on the Map |
News & Events

UCTC-Funded Research Paper from UC Irvine Wins TRB Pyke Johnson Award

A team of Institute of Transportation Studies (ITS) Irvine researchers supported by the University of California Transportation Center (UCTC) has won the 2009 Pyke Johnson Outstanding Paper Award from the U.S. Transportation Research Board (TRB). This award, which has only been awarded in 29 of the past 38 years, is bestowed on the best paper in the area of planning and environment presented at the TRB Annual Meeting. It was selected from more 3,000 presentations at the 2009 Annual Meeting.

The winning paper is "Environmental Impacts of a Major Freight Corridor: A Study of I-710 in California," co-authored by Gunwoo Lee, Soyoung (Iris) You, Stephen Ritchie, Jean-Daniel Saphores, Mana Sangkapicha, and R. Jayakrishnan. Ritchie, who is Director of ITS Irvine, was the Principal Investigator. The paper will be published in the TRB Transportation Research Record.The team's UCTC report of the same title was published in 2008.

The paper reports on research results from an innovative multidisciplinary research project concerned with modeling the air quality impacts of freight operations in the Alameda Corridor between the San Pedro Bay Ports of Long Beach and Los Angeles to near downtown Los Angeles.

This year's prize brings to seven the total awarded to UC scholars, three of them from UC Irvine. The complete list of UC-affiliated winners appears below:

  • 2009 (UC Irvine) - Gunwoo Lee, Soyoung (Iris) You, Stephen Ritchie, Jean-Daniel Saphores, Mana Sangkapicha, R. Jayakrishnan;
  • 2006  (UC Riverside) - Matthew Barth, George Scora, John F. Collins, John Norbeck, Nicole Davis;
  • 2000 (UCLA) - Brian D. Taylor, Mark Garrett, Hiroyuki Iseki
  • 1986 (UC Irvine) - Charles A. Lave;
  • 1980 (UC Irvine) - Roger F. Teal, Richard E. Goodhue, James V. Marks;
  • 1976 (UCLA) - Martin Wachs, Robert D. Blanchard;
  • 1971 (UC Berkeley) - Melvin M. Webber.

TRB is one of six major divisions of the National Research Council, a private, nonprofit institution that is the principal operating agency of the National Academies in providing services to the government, the public, and the scientific and engineering communities. The National Research Council is jointly administered by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine.